What was left unsaid

“The thing is, You didn’t care enough,” you said.
And I bit my lip, keeping–

forcing those memories
to burn

everything in my throat.
You do not know about

the sleepless nights
the desperate phone calls
the hospital receipts
that I had hidden away. Those list of

forgotten things
in exchange that you would remember
me as someone

who loves beyond
all your flaws, neuroses, and complexes.
All I want is to be strong

like a hard wall
That

Absorbs all the impact, and never

Demands

anything in return.
But you and

The whole world

never figured that out.

“I guess you’re right,” I said.
And we dropped the conversation
As if it–

–This

never existed.

Leave a Reply

