Gib

I confess:

It is I who still waits

For opportunity and maybe,

For the moment

That would let the world spin

Into another backtrack.

You see, our futures are big reverses

And so do our lives which are

Remixes of a handful of old musical hits.

You know that I am always your disco girl,

Ready to dance to any tune that you’ll sing.

Ready to tatter my goody-good shoes.

Ready to strip my armor

Only to be your riding hood

Who’s willing to be fooled

Thrice for a jar of cookies.

But you’re smart enough for always leaving me in Hamelin.

And I continue as a cripple in my mental world,

Making broken watches that someday

Would reverse the fall. 

Leave a Reply

